Friday, December 18, 2009

Jane-Emily by Patricia Clapp

book cover of Jane-Emily by Patricia Clapp
Jane-Emily
by Patricia Clapp
HarperCollins, 1969
139 pages
Children's/YA fantasy; ghost story
Personal Copy

Summary in a Sentence (or two): 
Eighteen-year-old Louisa Amory is off to spend the summer with her aunt and young niece, Jane, who has an invisible friend, Emily. Seems innocent enough, until Louisa learns that Emily was a real girl who died in the house years ago but maybe never quite left.

My Thoughts:

The first time I heard about this author or novel was when perusing Lizzie Skurnick's Shelf Discovery, which, if you haven't picked up yet, is a wonderful little gem of a book featuring teen classics from decades past. Many of you guys have joined the Shelf Discovery Challenge as well.

Anywho, I happened upon Jane-Emily and was at once drawn in with the synopsis of the story. I love ghost stories and anything with a Gothic feel. I couldn't find this one at any library nearby, so I ordered it and am so glad I did. This is a classic creepy, psychological ghost story with a side of romance for good measure. Something about children who are evil, possessed ghosts always seems extra malevolent, don't you think? Oh, and you will never look at those silver reflecting balls in peoples' front yards the same way again...

~For fans of Poe, Shirley Jackson, Du Maurier, all that good stuff. This book might also be a good way to get your kids to be fans of the aforementioned :)

Rating: 4/5

Also Recommended:
Other Reviews: 

8 comments:

Maria said...

Great Review!:) Sounds interesting.

http://fantasysink.blogspot.com/

Nina said...

Sounds very nice, i like ghoststories. :)

Anna said...

Ooh, this sounds really good. I'll have to look for it.

--Anna
Diary of an Eccentric

Book Snob said...

This book sounds great and the cover looks interesting. Thanks for the review!

Cleverly Inked said...

Good review...Nice cover

Connie said...

Oooh, I've GOT to get this. Thanks!

Andrea said...

I thought about this one for that challenge, but it seemed scary. Little evil children freak me out so much.

Lisa said...

Sounds like a good one for my daughter!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...