Friday, December 30, 2016

Books By Theme: If You Liked The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

If you liked The Little Paris Bookshop...

Fifty-year-old Jean Perdu is a literary apothecary on his barge bookshop moored on the Seine in Paris. Gifted at prescribing just the right book for what ails his devoted customers, he is unable to cure his own heart, broken two decades earlier when Manon, the married love of his life, vanishes after leaving behind just a letter that Perdu refused to read-that is, until now, with devastating consequences. Walking out on his first tender encounter with a woman in 20 years, Perdu flees south, setting sail with Max, a young, best-selling author with writer's block, as his uninvited guest. Triumph over tragedy is played out in the beauty of France's canals, in the quirky goodness of its people, and in Perdu's determination to seek forgiveness and reclaim joy.

Then Try These Titles:

The Bookshop
by Penelope Fitzgerald

While The Little Paris Bookshop portrays a French bookseller who takes his floating shop on an unexpected journey, and The Bookshop features a woman striving to establish her shop in an uncomprehending English village, both offer understated, pensive storytelling.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
by Mary Ann Shaffer

These romantic novels about the love of literature feature characters that are eager to share their book knowledge for the good of others. While Guernsey is a more serious novel than Paris Bookshop, both are clever and fun to read.
The Uncommon Reader 
by Alan Bennett

In these whimsical, engaging novels, purveyors of books offer wisdom, healing and self-awareness to their clients, through their love of reading. Uncommon Reader is lighter in tone than Little Paris Bookshop, but both are warm, witty stories about books.


Greg said...

This is nice to see as I was thinking of reading The Little Paris Bookshop. The Bookshop looks nice as well!

Amanda K Thompson said...

I've been curious about Little Paris Bookshop and now I really want to read it, especially when it's compared to Guernsey!

Elizabeth said...

The Little Paris Bookshop is a book I have been wanting to read but haven't read it yet. :(

I have read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

ENJOY your reading in 2017!!

Happy New Year!!

Silver's Reviews
My It's Monday, What Are You Reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...