Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Books by Theme: If you liked The Hunger Games

Hunger Games Mockingjay
"And may the odds be ever in your favor!"
~ from Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games
I thought a Hunger Games-esque post would be just the ticket in light of the upcoming movie. I know pretty much everyone and their brother has already read the trilogy. If you read it, liked it, and need more of it, check out the books below.

book cover of Enclave by Ann Aguirre
by Ann Aguirre
Feiwel & Friends, 2011

In the aftermath of war and plague, most of New York City's survivors have moved underground, establishing enclaves where they eke out an existence and hide from zombie-like Freaks. After 15-year-old Deuce, an enclave-dweller, earns the rank of Huntress, she is paired with a mysterious outsider named Fade...and the two of them discover a secret that could destroy their precarious society. While there are hints of a possible romance between Deuce and Fade, this violent, gritty, and suspenseful read will appeal most to those who like the world-building and pulse-pounding action of the Hunger Games books.

book cover of Ashes by Ilsa Bick
by Ilsa Bick
Edgmont, 2011(Thanks for the suggestion, Sandra!)

Seventeen-year-old Alex is on a solo camping trip in the woods (and playing hooky from her seemingly pointless chemo treatments) when a series of electromagnetic pulses renders all technology useless, kills most of Earth's population, and turns many of those left alive into ravenous, bloodthirsty cannibals. But Alex isn't entirely alone; she teams up with an eight-year-old girl and a young soldier on leave who, like her, weren't transformed by the pulses, and the three of them fight together for survival. Terrifying and exhilarating, this rather gruesome read is one that fans of the darker bits of The Hunger Games (or similar blends of world-building and action, such as James Dashner's The Maze Runner) will devour.

book cover of The Unidentified by Rae Mariz
by Rae Mariz
Balzer & Bray, 2010

Hunger Games fans who are fascinated by the culture of Capitol residents will be drawn in by this thought-provoking novel, in which schools of the future are taken over by corporations and housed in shopping malls. With no interest in being "branded" like the popular kids, whose every move is observed and tallied by advertisers as market research, nonconformist teen Katey "Kid" Dade looks for -- and finds -- others like her who want to buck the system. But can she really trust them? Suspenseful and full of great characters, The Unidentified will keep you turning the pages right up to its end.

book cover of Divergent by Veronica Roth
by Veronica Roth
Katherine Tegen Books, 2011 (thanks mom!)

In this book's far-future, post-apocalyptic Chicago, everyone belongs to one of five factions, each named for the virtue that its members devote their lives to cultivating: Candor (honesty), Abnegation (selflessness), Dauntless (bravery), Amity (peacefulness), and Erudite (intelligence). At 16, all citizens choose their permanent factions, and Beatrice Prior has just shocked her family by rejecting Abnegation to become Dauntless. But in order to join the ranks of the bold and brave, she'll first have to survive their brutal initiation...and keep a secret that could cost her life. Combining thrills, action, and violence with heady romance, Divergent is a great pick for fans of the Hunger Games trilogy.

Books by Theme was inspired by both Melissa at One Librarians Book Reviews's feature Listless Monday and Court at Once Upon a Bookshelf's Listed feature.  Be sure to check out their lists!

5 comments:

Zibilee said...

Two of these are new to me, and I am interested in all of them! I have a copy of Divergent that I need to get to, but I am making a note of these others as well. Thanks for sharing them with us!

A Bookshelf Monstrosity said...

Anytime! I know a lot of people who are just now reading the books due to publicity from the upcoming movie. Hoping to get people on a reading roll!

Ms. Yingling said...

Dashner's The Maze Runner and Hall's The Line are two that my Hunger Games fans really like. Thanks for the list.

A Bookshelf Monstrosity said...

@Ms.Yingling- thanks for your additions to the list. I'd forgotten about The Line.

melissa @ 1lbr said...

I haven't heard of The Unidentified! Sounds intriguing. And I'm currently reading Ashes - boy is it scaring me.