Saturday, August 8, 2015

This Librarian's Quick Picks: Dory and the Real True Friend

Dory and the Real True Friend by Abby Hanlon book coverDory and the Real True Friend
by Abby Hanlon
Dial Books (July 7, 2015)
Early Chapter Book


Dory, a highly imaginative youngest child, makes a new friend at school but her brother and sister are sure Rosabelle is imaginary, just like all of Dory's other friends. 

Why You'll Love It:
  • Dory’s lively first-person narrative is illustrated with similarly expressive line drawings, which take up about as much space as the text in this appealing early chapter book.
  • The humor and familiar school setting will invite new fans. Old friends and new will hope this highly successful sequel will not be the last starring this inventive, original child.
  • Fans of Annie Barrows's "Ivy and Bean", Barbara Park's "Junie B. Jones", and books with a little bit of humor and fantasy mixed into a school setting will enjoy reading this second installment in the "Dory" series.  

Who Should Read It:

Great for grades 2-4.

Dory and the Real True Friend Illustration

What Else You Should Read:

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...